Abstract Submission

THSNA Travel Awards

THSNA Abstract Travel Awards are designed to promote clinical and basic research by young investigators, nurses, pharmacists, and medical technologists.

Additional Information:

  • The travel award review committee will give equal consideration to hemostasis and thrombosis submissions, and to clinical science and basic laboratory work; covering four basic tracks: laboratory, thrombosis, hemostasis and basic science.
  • Selection of Travel Award recipients from among applicants will be based on the quality of the submitted abstract.
  • Only submissions whose first authors are Young Investigators, Nurses, Pharmacists, or Coagulation Medical Technologists are eligible for travel awards.
  • Young Investigators are defined as undergraduate students, medical students, graduate students, resident physicians, post-doctoral fellows (MD or PhD) and young MD or MD/PhD investigators within five years of completing clinical training in hemostasis and/or thrombosis.
  • To be eligible for a THSNA travel award a Young Investigator, nurse, pharmacists or medical technologist must be the first author and presenter of an abstract accepted for presentation at THSNA 2018.
  • A total of up to thirty (30) travel awards will be granted.
  • The travel award includes up to $1,000 toward travel and lodging costs to attend the conference plus complimentary conference registration for first authors of award-winning abstracts.
  • Applications for the travel awards are accepted as part of the abstract submission process and applicants will be notified in January 2018.


Previous Recipients

Name Year Affiliation
Homa K. Ahmadzia 2018 The George Washington University
Lauren E. Amos 2018 Children's Mercy Hospital
Lisa Baumann Kreuziger 2018 Blood Center of Wisconsin
Clay T. Cohen 2018 Texas Children's Hospital
Rahul M. Dhodapkar 2018 MongoDB
Peter Doan 2018 Children's Hospital Colorado
Madelaine E. Duarte 2018 Duke University
Jessica Garcia 2018 Medical College of Wisconsin
Dorsaf Ghalloussi 2018 University of North Carolina
Mohammed Hayat 2018 University of Illinois-College of Medicine
Sallu Jabati 2018 Hemostasis and Thrombosis Laboratories
Maissaa Janbain 2018 Tulane School of Medicine
Dominder Kaur 2018 Mayo Clinic
Amanda D. Kaveney 2018 Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Robert H. Lee 2018 University of North Carolina
Camila Masias 2018 The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center
Mary E. Michaels 2018 Emory University School of Medicine
Sarah A. Miller 2018 Baylor College of Medicine
Amanda B. Payne 2018 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Siavash Piran 2018 McMaster University
Allyson M. Pishko 2018 University of Pennsylvania
Sarah E. Sartain 2018 Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's Hospital
Emily Southard 2018 Children's Hospital Colorado
Meera Sridharan 2018 Mayo Internal Medicine Program
Jennifer Teichman 2018 University of Toronto
Ari Vandersluis 2018 Nationwide Children's Hospital
Hope P. Wilson 2018 Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center/Children's Hospital New Orleans
Homa K. Ahmadzia 2016 The George Washington University
Glaivy Batsuli 2016 Emory University School of Medicine
Elena Campello 2016 University of Padova
S. Ariane Christie 2016 University of California San Francisco
Ashley Doruelo 2016 Medical College of Wisconsin
Reid C. Gallant 2016 St. Michael's Hospital
Angeilica M. Garzon 2016 Memorial Sloan Kettering, New York Blood Center
Manu Thomas Kalathottuka 2016 University of British Columbia
Christina Keltz 2016 Rochester General Hospital
Rachel Landisch 2016 Medical College of Wisconsin
Jeff Liles 2013 Loyola Stritch School of Medicine
Venkata Machha 2016 Mayo Clinic
Lisa J. Moherman 2016 West Virginia University Healthcare
Shinoj Pattali 2016 Medical College of Wisconsin
David S. Paul 2016 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Raymond Piatt2016 McAllister Heart Institute
Tiffany Pon 2016 University of California, San Francisco School of Pharmacy
Daniel Reed 2016 University of Virginia Health System
Sarah E. Sartain 2016 Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's Hospital
Jansen N. Seheult 2016 University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Joshua I. Siner 2016 The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Isabel A. Theberge 2016 The Ottawa General Hospital
Alexander Tischer 2016 Mayo Foundation
Michelle L. Witkop 2016 National Hemophilia Foundation